National Championship Tournament Information

The National Championship Tournament (NCT) is the final round of the American Mock Trial Association's annual national tournament structure.  The NCT will host the top six teams from each of AMTA's ORCS tournaments in March. Only 48 teams will advance and compete in the National Championship Tournament.  These 48 teams will be divided into two "divisions" of 24 teams each.  The first-place teams from each will face off in AMTA's National Championship Final Round.

The NCT host will provide further logistical information regarding the tournament to those teams who earn bids to the NCT. If you have any general questions or would like any further information about the NCT round of competition, please e-mail William Warihay, chairperson of the Tournament Administration Committee.

33rd AMTA National Championship Tournament 
April 21-23, 2017 | Los Angeles, California
Hosted by the University of California, Los Angeles



The above-referenced website includes a tournament schedule, judge registration information, and all logistics for the National Championship Tournament.

AMTA Representatives:

  • The Harvey Wallace Division: Justin Bernstein, Melissa Pavely, Johnathan Woodward
  • ​The Corey J. Wlodarczyk Division: ​Brandon Harper, Melissa Schuett, Michael Walsh

Team Competition Information:
Once a team earns a bid to the National Championship Tournament, they must complete the following forms.  Each form must be completed once for each team from each school that is attending the National Championship Tournament.

1.  Bid Reservation Form - Due by Noon CDT on the Tuesday after the bid is earned

2.  Team Roster Form - Due by 4:00 PM CDT on Monday, April 3, 2017

Note: Teams may change their roster after this deadline, but no later than 5:00 p.m. EDT Monday, April 17, 2017.  If a school with two teams changes their roster(s) after this deadline, the Competition Response Committee has the authority to change which team bears the "A" designation under Rule 5.28(3)(c).

For information on which teams are attending the National Championship Tournament, please view the following lists:

 Earned Bid List   Open Bid List   Tournament Divisions 


34th AMTA National Championship Tournament
April 20-22, 2018 | Minneapolis, Minnesota
Hosted by the Hamline University